Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors

Information for Vermont Residents

Vermont has very specific requirements for the placement of Smoke and CO detectors.  The law (Title 9 V.S.A.) specifies the type of alarms that must be used.  Older ionization style alarms are NOT allowed to be used in Vermont.   All smoke alarms in Vermont must be the Photoelectric style.   You should update your home now to comply with these guidelines even if you are not selling now.  When you go to sell, you will be required to do this anyway, so updating your home now will save you time, will result in fewer inspection findings, and will make your home safer for your family.

Old smoke alarms may no longer be functional.  All smoke alarms should be updated every 10 years.  The same applies for CO detectors except that they should be replaced every 5 to 7 years. 

Smoke and CO detectors need fresh batteries.  Even hardwired models need batteries.  Dead or missing batteries could result in death.  It is a good practice to change your batteries when you change your clocks.

Click the links below for more information from the State of VT Department of Public Safety.  

Download these fact sheets.  Below are a few fact sheets provided by the State of Vermont that you can download:

Make an escape plan.  Below are safety tips and an escape planning guide as provided by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).  Use this to plan your escape!

If you have questions about interpreting these resources or if you have questions about smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector placement and maintenance, please call Twin State Inspections, LLC at 603-643-INSPECT (4677).  We are glad to provide you with free advice on this.